Uncategorized

April 17th, 2015 Movie – Gorillaz: Demon Days Live At The Manchester Opera House

gorillaz - demon days live in manchester

Before you even start, yes, I know this isn’t a movie. But it is a DVD and I am watching one DVD a day so I am watching it. Yeh, yeh, semantics, deal with it. Now the Gorillaz is one of my favorite bands. I thought the whole concept of an animated band was fantastic. Add in the fact that the guy who drew the characters/animation is the same guy that did Tank Girl and I was immediately going to be a fan. As to the music side of this pairing, I was never a big fan of Blur but they did have a couple of songs that I liked so I was curious enough about it to buy their first CD. Their second CD, Demon Days, is one of my favorite CD’s of all time. So when I heard that they were making a DVD of a live performance, I had to pick it up. Mainly I wanted the DVD because I was curious about what a Gorillaz show looked like, but it did help that they were performing my favorite CD. The performance was really good. I liked how all of the main musicians that are part of the group (Albarn, the drummer, guitarist, etc.) were all kept in shadows while the guest vocalists and musicians, such as De La Soul, the kids choir, and the orchestra members, were clearly shown. As for the music, it’s the Gorillaz. If you like them, you will like it. If you don’t, that’s your loss.

Rating: 4 1/2 out of 5

Standard

Leave a Reply

