Uncategorized

Flashback Review: January 23rd, 2014 Movie – 007: Skyfall

007 skyfall

It is with deep sadness that I post this review because it means that I have watched the last of the official Bond films. I know some of you are wondering about that statement and don’t worry, I will explain it later. Now 2012 was the 50th anniversary of Dr. No so it only seemed natural for them to do something big for the anniversary. Many of my friends saw this movie before I did and all I heard from them was how good this film was. So when I finally saw Skyfall, there was a lot of hype surrounding it. Did it manage to live up to the hype? Well keep reading as I review today’s movie, Skyfall.

The plot: While chasing a mercenary that has stolen a hard drive with the details of Nato undercover agents in terrorist organizations, Bond is shot by friendly fire, falls off a moving train, and is presumed dead. Back in London, M comes under fire over the failure to recover the hard drive and is under pressure to retire when an attack on MI6 offices occur. Bond, having survived his injuries, sees the news about the attack and heads back to London and, even though he fails the physical and psych exams, M puts him on the case to find out who is behind the attacks. Bond manages to track down the man responsible, an ex MI6 agent named Raoul Silva, and take him into custody. But when the MI6 servers get hacked, Bond realizes that Silva wanted to be captured so he could get close enough to kill M. Bond takes M to his family home so that he can have an advantage in the final showdown with Silva.

With high expectations for the 50th anniversary film, the studio went all out and it payed off for them big time. Critics loved the film, as shown by the 92% rating it earned on Rotten Tomatoes, praising just about everything from the actors to the writing and even the action. As for the audience, oh did they ever like this movie. Not only is Skyfall the highest grossing film in the Bond series, but with it’s $1.1 Billion (that’s Billion with a B) worldwide gross earning, it was the second highest grossing movie of 2012, losing out only to The Avengers. Skyfall also set some franchise records at the 2013 Academy Awards as it’s 5 nominations were the most for any Bond film and it’s two wins is also more than any film in the series.

When I went to see this movie, I was worried that it would not live up to all the hype surrounding it. Luckily for me, I was not disappointed. While I am not quite able to say that this was the best Bond film of all time (for my money it is still From Russia With Love), this is a fantastic movie and definitely one of my top 5 Bond films. Daniel Craig really came into his own with his role of Bond and will probably give Connery a run for his money as to who is the better agent. Judi Dench had one of her best performances in years with her portrayal of M in this film. I know some people criticized the whole Bond/M relationship in this movie but I liked it. It showed the determination of both characters to stick by the characters that they know they can trust no matter what. Silva could be a little over the top at times but he was a very good villain. I thought both the writing and the action scenes were well done. I also like the nod to some of the older Bond films that they did. I especially liked the scene with Bond and M in the Aston Martin and Bond threatens to use the ejector seat on M. My only problem is not so much with this film, but simply how future films are going to top this one.

A great movie and definitely a worthy tribute to 50 years of entertainment, everyone should go see this film.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Standard

One thought on “Flashback Review: January 23rd, 2014 Movie – 007: Skyfall

  1. Pingback: February 10th, 2016 Movie – 007: Spectre | movieadayblog

Leave a Reply

