Uncategorized

November 26th, 2014 Movie – Elvira’s Haunted Hills

elviras haunted hills

After her first movie fared rather poorly at the box office, no one was willing to finance a second Elvira movie. So she decided to do it herself. 13 years later, her second movie was released straight to video. Paying homage to Vincent Price by spoofing many of the films he was famous for, Elvira’s Haunted Hills was an interesting movie. Was it as good as her first film? I will leave that up to you. So here is today’s movie, Elvira’s Haunted Hills.

The plot: Elvira and her maid/servant Zou Zou are on their way to perform in a show in Paris when they are hit with money problems and chased out of the local village. Accepting a ride from Dr. Bradley Bradley, the ladies find themselves spending the night in a strange castle in the hills above the village. The castle is owned by Lord Vladimere Hellsubus, a man plagued by fits of madness and whose long dead wife bears a remarkable resemblance to Elvira. As strange things begin happening involving the inhabitants of the castle, Elvira is plagued by dreams involving the former Lady Elura and must figure out what is going on and how to escape.

To be perfectly honest, when I first watched this movie, I didn’t really like it. When I saw how high it was rated on Rotten Tomatoes, I figured maybe I had missed something and should give it another shot. Today is my third time watching it and while I can respect all the different elements in this movie, I still don’t think it is that good of a movie. I did like the various references to Edgar Allen Poe and thought that they did a decent job considering the limited budget. My main problem is that in stead of telling the story, they seemed to try too hard in making people get that this was a spoof. It just killed the mood for me. Of course, that is just my own hangup. If you don’t mind that sort of thing, then you might like it better.

So whether or not this is better than the first movie is a matter of opinion. If you want to know, you are welcome to watch it yourself.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Standard

Leave a Reply

